Author of the Week: Eden Winters

eden-winters

 

Thank you for taking the time to answer my questions, Eden.

 

  • Can you tell us a little bit about yourself? I’m a business executive, mother, grandmother, author, poet, pet mom and part-time Stormtrooper. It’s a crazy life.
  • What inspires your writing? Everything! Songs. A single phrase. Newspaper articles. Dreams. A phone number I found scrawled on a dollar bill. Anything can be a plot bunny.
  • When did you start writing m/m romance? And why this genre? I began reading LGBTQ novels as a way to better understand the issues a dear friend faced, and fell in love with the m/m romance genre. One day while discussing a favorite book with another friend, she said, “We could do this, you know.” Writing helped me through a rough patch in my life, and the resulting book “The Telling”, was too personal to sell. Right now it’s available for free at most venues, and for 99 cents at Amazon. They never marked it down so all proceeds are donated to the local PFLAG chapter.
  • Are you a full time author? I wish.
  • Who is your favorite author? Too many to name!
  • How many books have you written so far? I’m currently working on number seventeen, with fourteen published.
  • Tell us a little about your novel, Reunion (Diversion 6).
The Diversion series follows two agents of The Southeastern Narcotics Bureau which specializes in pharmaceutical crimes, as opposed to street drugs. They become partners both on and off the job. If your readers haven’t picked up the series yet, I don’t want to give too many spoilers, but it’s been a long, hard road for the anti-hero, Lucky, and the hero, Bo, to drop their suspicions enough to form a team.
The plot of this sixth book in the series involves reconnecting with the past and putting a few things to rights before moving on. It needed to happen. It’s been thirteen years since Lucky has seen or heard from his folks, and the other five books are laced with innuendo, some intentional, some accidental, that leads him to this moment.
But will the final showdown finally happen? And what will be the results? Muwhaaahaahaaa…

 

  • How long did it take you to complete Reunion? Did you write it freely or plan everything in advance? I’m still writing, and have been hard at work for about six months on it. I’m a pantser all the way, so I had a few key scenes in mind, but the rest developed as I wrote, including the big reveal. Even I didn’t see that coming.
  • What inspired you to write Reunion? When I wrote Diversion (Diversion 1) it was intended as a standalone, but since I work in the pharmaceutical industry, more and more articles came across my desk that could be turned into cases for my narcotics agents to solve. In the first book I set up a bit about Lucky and Bo’s history, and it’s now time to tie up some loose ends in their lives on the way to their HEA.
  • Who is your favorite character in the novel and why? It’s hard to name a favorite. Lucky fights back in a world where he feels like an outsider, Bo manages to stay kind and optimistic no matter what grief life hands him, and Loretta Johnson is the kind of dedicated friend I aspire to be. Walter stands quietly in the background, believing in and supporting them all.
  • How much of yourself did you manifest into your favorite character? As much as I can, but let’s face it: I WISH I was as outspoken as Lucky.
  • When someone reads Reunion, what do you hope they gain from reading it? The drug I write about in the story is real, no matter how fictional it may sound, and it’s a huge threat. My hope is that people enjoy the romance, but also learn.
  • Can you share four things you’ve learned about the business? 1. Good betas and crit partners are worth their weight in gold. 2. Be careful about advice and “how to” books. Everyone has their own opinions, but find what works for you and stick to it. If you try to write based on what other people think, you’ll compromise your unique voice. It’ll also kill the sheer joy of writing. 3. Reviews are useful for pointing out areas of improvement for your work, but see point number 2. 4. Not just about the business but life in general: Always be kind. Folks may not always remember your kindness, but they will remember a bad attitude or harsh words. We deal with words and must be careful with them. They are powerful.
  • What is the most frequently asked question by the fans?
When are we getting more Bo and Lucky?

 

  • What are you working on now? More Bo and Lucky and a m/m romance version of The Frog Prince. I’m also polishing up a reprint of Fallen Angel (The Angel of 13th Street 2). Broken Wing (An Angel of 13th Street side story) is in the beta process.
  • How do you keep your creative “spark” alive? By trying new things, like cosplay, and exploring the world around me. Switching up sub-genres also keeps me inspired.
  • What is your suggestion or piece of advice to new and upcoming writers? Keep writing. And if you’re an aspiring author who doesn’t know how to get started, write and submit a short story. The biggest hurdle to being a published author is thinking you can’t. So once that story is published, you’re an author. Go write.
  • Where we can find you on the Internet?
Website: www.edenwinters.com
Twitter: https://twitter.com/EdenWinters1
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/EdenWinters

 

  • Could you please share your favorite excerpt from Reunion with us?

Oh crap. The guy sliding into the chair Johnson just left might have been the same persistent bastard Lucky had punched out during his last visit to the club.

“Mind if I join you?”

Lucky huffed, “Would saying ‘go the fuck away’ make you leave?”

“Oh, don’t be like that.” Shit for brains wasn’t planning to take no for an answer, and settled more fully in the chair. Idiot.

Damn it! “I thought not.”

The guy grinned. “What? You think I’m an ax murderer or something?”

This could be entertaining. Lucky lost the battle to hide an evil grin. “Of course not! What’s the chance of two ax murders meeting up at the same table, in the same club, on the same night?”

At least that wiped the grin off the man’s face—for a moment. Then he laughed. “Oh, you are a kidder, aren’t you?”

Time for Lucky to employ his best serious face, saved for important lies. “Not really. But the way I see it, the stranger who approached me in a bar and wouldn’t leave me alone had it coming.” Lucky leaned in, putting himself nose to nose with the blue-jean and too-tight shirt clad pain in the ass. “I got off on a technicality.”

The chair flew backwards. Wow! Someone pull the guy over for speeding. He nearly knocked the next table, and Johnson, over getting away.

Johnson stepped up and grabbed the chair before it hit the floor. “What’s his problem?”

Lucky shrugged. “I dunno. I told him I’m with you, and you’re the jealous type. Then he hauled ass.”

 

Thank you for taking time out, Eden!

Leave a Reply

